New Beginnings

[email sent Sep. 12, 2016]

Dear family and friends,

This last week I received my transfer news. Well, my reign as an office elder has come to an end. President told me last week that I would be transferred eight and a half hours away. [The area] is newly opened with crazy amounts of success, but needs to be nurtured with great care, due to its newness. When President informed me that I would be transferred, he told me he needs some of his most trusted missionaries in [the area]. Now, I do not want to add that last part to brag. I am no better than any other missionary in the world, but it made me feel good to know that I am trusted.

Having to say goodbye to everyone here was really hard. I love the members and investigators so much. I will miss one of my baptisms this coming Sunday, because I will leave for [my new area] early Wednesday morning. The woman I was going to baptize is named Elizabeth. She wanted no one but me to baptize her, but finally agreed to let my friend named Ernest baptize her. I will also miss the baptisms of Kojo, Esther, Thomas, and Joyce the following couple of weeks. Even though I will not be there for their baptisms, I am happy I have been a part of helping them come closer to Christ. I will still keep in contact with them.

I don’t have a lot to say this week, but I hope all of you know that I love you.

 

With great love for all,

Elder Whipple

P.S. [new area] is the hottest place in all of Ghana… And… The “winter” months are the hottest months here in Ghana. Pray. Pray hard. 🙂

Leave a Reply

