Scripture Study

[email sent May 23, 2016]

Dear Family and friends,

Every Monday in the Ghana Kumasi mission, and all other missions in the world, we write a weekly letter to our mission president reporting on our own personal growth and the growth of our areas in the mission. Along with reporting on those things, we are to tell our mission president one Christ like attribute we will be working on during the coming week. Well, last week I chose to work on humility. All throughout this last week I have focused my scripture studies on humility. As I asked myself questions about humility and how I can be a more humble follower of Jesus Christ, I found answers.

calling-the-fishermen-39547-gallery
Matt 4:18-22 “Follow me…”

No matter how many times I have read the scriptures, I always find scriptures (not necessarily new scriptures, but scriptures seen from a new view) that help me become a better person. This week it was a scripture that I have read many times before, but I read the scripture looking for a new way to apply it to my life. It talked about how we should be content with what the Lord has given us.

Well, I don’t know about you, but I think it takes a humble person to be content with what God has given them. I decided I want to be content with what the Lord has given me. Along with that, as I have studied about humility, I have come to the conclusion that I don’t want to ever be angry again. Being angry stinks. I was teaching a lady the other day about charity and she told me, “I just get really angry at people really easily.” I then asked her, “Does it change the other person when you get angry at them?” She told me no. Asking a follow up question, I said, “Well, then, why do you get angry?” She continued by telling me that she didn’t know why she got angry at people. She just did. After I taught that lesson, I asked myself, “Well Kamron, why do you get angry?” Let’s just say I never want to be angry again, because there is no purpose to being angry.

christ-teaching-the-people-39554-gallery
Matt 18:21-35 Forgive 70 times 7

As for this week, I will keep my emailing short. Thank you for reading! Tune in next week!

“The message of the restored gospel of Jesus Christ is that we can and must expect to become better as long as we live.” —President Henry B. Eyring

“You have help. You have help on both sides of the veil.”

Love,

Kamron

Leave a Reply

