No snow in Africa yet…

Is everyone excited for Christmas?!? I know I am! And it’s not because of how much snow has fallen here in Africa… It’s because I get to call home! So get to my parents house and wait for the call! They said we would be able to skype home, but the internet cafes here are terrible. Either way, I’m happy. So, my companion and I have our side of the apartment all decked out for Christmas decorations and we are ready to start filling the stockings with candies and other goodies… I’ve been collecting Christmas gifts the last few weeks. Too bad y’all have to wait a few years to get them…
 
"Hey Elder Ambanya! Have you found lunch yet? I'm starving!" [is this where he found our Christmas gifts??]
“Hey Elder Ambanya! Have you found lunch yet? I’m starving!” [is this where he found our Christmas gifts??]

Most days fly by here, because we are busy most of the time. There are quite a few slow days though. I really dislike slow days… Usually it means bad planning, but sometimes it’s God testing to see if we are willing to push harder.

DSC00176

One thing I have seen for myself now is how living with someone , not family, 24/7 can bring out true personality. It’s weird. I expected things to be different living with another 18-26 year old who hadn’t been raised in the same house hold, but I had to experience it to actually know. If you want to know all the personality types and which you work better with, go on a mission.

Bro Peter
Bro Peter

Not only will you learn that, but you will learn a billion other things. Things like, “Does chocolate spread taste good with rice and banana? Because I don’t have a lot of money for nicer treats…” To really feasting on the scriptures.

My favorite meal here in Ghana. Koko
My favorite meal here in Ghana. Koko

It’s so dry and dusty here. The weather gets harder each passing day. My companion coughed up dust the other night… Gross. This season they call hammerton.

That's not mist and fog... That's dust.
That’s not mist and fog… That’s dust.

It’s caused by the winds blowing the sand and heat from the Sahara. The weather will be like this until March. It has started to get cooler at night though. I can’t stand taking showers in the morning, because the water is so cold. So I bathe by heating water on the camp stove we use to cook with. Then it’s a rag bath for me…

Modeling my new African wear...
Modeling my new African wear…

Mission life baby. Nothing like it. Especially the GKM life… Because our mission is the best.

Second baptism.
Second baptism.

Haha, I was talking to one of the zone leaders last night about the GKM and while we were talking the subject of “things we are grateful for in America” came up…

African food at an investigators house. Yes, we all ate with our hands out of the same bowl. Yes, it was a really bad idea.
African food at an investigators house. Yes, we all ate with our hands out of the same bowl. Yes, it was a really bad idea.

The zone leader (Elder Madsen) brought up the scripture that talks about opposition in all things and said that the GKM is that opposition to first world mentality.

Delicious.
Delicious.

And when we get home we shall have a fullness of joy and gratitude for first world things…

Washing clothes and dishes.
Washing clothes and dishes.

You really don’t know what you have, until you don’t have it. Or in other words, you can’t know true joy without opposition.

She just called us over to peel and eat purple sweet potatoes. Also yummy.
She just called us over to peel and eat purple sweet potatoes. Also yummy.

Some things I learned or relearned this week are… You don’t realize how “hungry” for the scriptures you are, until you actually start feasting upon the word instead of snacking.

Selfie.
Selfie.

There is so much to learn. Don’t waste the time you have. If nothing else, pick up a book and read.

No matter what we sacrifice for the Lord, He will repay a hundred fold.

Just another day in paradise!
Just another day in paradise!

Time with family is gold. Spend it wisely.

When you don’t have money to blow on food… Rice, chocolate, and banana make a delicious treat.

I found American chocolate!!!! And a Manchester United outfit. [Hershey's chocolate spread!]
I found American chocolate!!!! And a Manchester United outfit. [Hershey’s chocolate spread!]

Also, in order for me to be exactly obedient to the 1 hour emailing rule, I must cut my time and emails even shorter than they were… Sorry.

I love all of you.

Love Elder Whipple

2 thoughts on “No snow in Africa yet…

Leave a Reply

