A pocket full of sunshine.

12/14/15 UPDATE with photos!
My mornings almost always start the same way. At about 4:30 a.m. I wake up because of loud chickens and Muslims praying (I think?) And then after a little bit I fall back to sleep until 6:30 when I am jarred awake by the annoying sounds of my alarm clock… I work out, shower, eat, and then study for several hours. Every morning is like that and it flies by.
 Rooster Clock
I always talk with the zone leaders who share our apartment. Both are white guys. One is from South Africa and the other is from the U.S. They are super awesome. I am blessed to have them in the same apartment. Whenever I have had a rough day, I just talk to them for awhile about their day and I feel better.
Just waiting for some investigators on P-day...
Just waiting for some investigators on P-day…
The one from America hooked me up with a member who knows how to make/get Kente clothes, scripture cases, and ties. Let’s just say I now have a bunch of Kente stuff…
The U.S. dollar is so powerful here. 100 dollars equals just under 400 Ghana cedi, which is a lot of money here. A person here can live a month on that kind of money. Even though I have personal money I could use for nicer foods, I have decided I am only going to use the money the mission has given me. Gotta prepare for college… and life.
Unknown
Ghana cedi
There are a few things I wouldn’t mind getting from home though. Like, Slap ya mama, Luna rich pills, Gatorade powder, letters I can hold, more Gatorade… And my companion would like lots of MM’s… That’s just to name a few.
Packages take a minimum of three weeks to get here… Just so ya know.
Update on third world living! Our apartment is first class compared to most of the people here in [this town], but it isn’t much like living in America. You know you are adapting to things though when a live bug runs out of your kenka and when you find out it isn’t a dangerous bug, you eat the kenka anyways.
This is Kenka
This is Kenka
 [Kenka/kenkey – usually made from ground corn]
Or the power goes out for more than 24 hours and the milk you have in the fridge gets warm. And then 3 days later you remember you have milk in the fridge, but forgot the power was out… So you pour it on your oatmeal… I just dumped the milk out and finished my oatmeal. I am also grateful for ice cold showers, because it means I have running water in my house that I don’t have to walk a mile for. I have to constantly look for the good or the bad will beat me up.
My Zone.
My Zone.

Here are some things I have learned or relearned this week. Exact obedience is hard when not everyone is in the same boat. Living in the now is better than the “What if’s.” Adjusting to something new is difficult, but if we ask God for help, He will answer. Having a strong testimony as a parent and sharing it with your kids is extremely important. Because your children need something to build on until they find Jesus for themselves and can build on His rock. Everything denotes there is a God if you look for it. Our faith will be manifest through our work and diligence. Unity and the spirit is better than perfection without the spirit in a companionship.

I love all of you and am praying for you.

"Let every man learn his duty..." I'm just the executive secretary. Nothing big.
“Let every man learn his duty…” I’m just the executive secretary. Nothing big.

By the way, I got beat up by a monkey this week and called by the mission president to the branch presidency.

This little boy is feeding that monkey with a banana... The same banana I tried to feed it with when it jumped out of the tree and scratched my arm.
This little boy is feeding that monkey with a banana… The same banana I tried to feed it with when it jumped out of the tree and scratched my arm.

Stay sweetly awesome! (Pictures to come next week)

It looks so nice. It's not.
It looks so nice. It’s not.

Peace out,

Elder Whipple

 

Packages – are always nice – if you send one:

Dear Parents [family and friends] of Missionaries;

Sending boxes or envelopes (other than the one included in this email) results in Customs charges that are prohibitively expensive. Your missionary may not be able to afford the customs fees, which can range as high as two weeks of a missionaries subsistence.

Many times these packages sit for weeks while the missionary saves up a few extra Cedi’s to pay for them. In addition customs opens every single package that they quarantine, and any wrapped packages inside as well.

The preferred packages are flat rate padded white USPS plastic padded envelopes that you can stuff as full as you can for a flat rate and the bonus…. they are not stopped and opened in customs and charged horrendous fees, (and your missionary gets ALL the goodies immediately).

Click on the following link, or copy this link to your browser address bar and you will see exactly how to get these envelopes. Please click on the attached picture as well.

LINK: Picture of Padded flat rate shipping envelope.

Thank you for sending us your Missionaries!

Elder Halladay

Financial Secretary

Ghana Kumasi Mission

1802429-FIN@ldschurch.org

michael@mhalladay.com

0243-500-262

Leave a Reply

