Thanksgiving Special: 3 emails 1 blog post

[Elder Whipple’s sister running the blog recently had a baby…sorry for the blogging interruption. :p]

Nov 16, 2015      New Obroni in Town

And it came to pass, in the year 2015 Elder Whipple did go forth and invite all to come unto Christ. I’m here, for reals… The MTC was a dream land compared to actually being here.
DSC00048
MTC instructor, my fav!
Here is a little on my journal entry the first night in the field. “I don’t even know what to think right now. Today I got my first companion at the mission home. His name is Elder Ambanya. He is my mission father, since he is my trainer.
DSC00065
New Missionaries and their trainers.
After I found out who was to be my trainer I had about 2 hours to pack and relax before I headed to my first area.
DSC00059
Once the 2 hours were up, I loaded my gear into one of the mission cars and took off. The drive took about 10 minutes, then we pulled off the road, they took my stuff out of the car and load it into a taxi which took us another 10 minutes away to a tro-tro parking area.
DSC00061
As soon as we unloaded everything from the taxi we were surrounded by 8 Ghanaian’s all speaking Twi. 20 minutes later, we finally packed our gear into the tro-tro and got into that packed car. The reason it took so long is because of my white skin… My trainer says because I’m white they try to charge more.
DSC00049
MTC District
By the way, when I say we packed into the tro-tro, I mean sardines have more room then we did… We were stuffed like that for 3 hours. The first thing I noticed about our apartment is it’s huge!!
DSC00105
Our huge apartment.
Like, 10 missionaries could live there huge! Only 4 of us do though. Now I am just sitting at my desk, mind blown. It’s hard to take in right now. While I was taking a shower I thought, ‘What am I doing?!? It’s so third world here.
DSC00066
Behold!! My royal bedchambers.
The bathroom is one you would expect in Africa and I’m forever away from home!’ I then thought, ‘But what about all the good things? Think about Christ. You are here for Him.’ I may be scared, but I can do this.”

DSC00060The next day. “I woke up this morning feeling much better then last night, took a freezing shower, and ate porridge for the first time. Side note, Ghanaian’s put pepper in everything, even porridge. After breakfast I studied the scriptures for an hour, which was wonderful! Then Elder Ambanya and I studied and trained for another 2 hours. We headed out into my first area!! It was awesome and crazy at the same time… I loved teaching people and getting to meet everyone. But at the same time it’s crazy!” My companion said I am a natural teacher, but I think it’s just the spirit…

Nothing I read or watched could have prepared me for this… Trash is a normal thing. It’s everywhere. People pee wherever they want. Yesterday 3 people peed behind a person we were teaching… 3 in such a short time!! During a lesson on Friday a sweet woman started breastfeeding her child while we were teaching her… Just keep eye contact. Haha, I’m pretty sure I was looking into her soul. All of the kids and people yell “Obroni” as I walk by…

DSC00050
“But, first let me take a selfie…”

Since I arrived I have had my mind on how I can magnify my calling as a missionary… I’m trying as hard as I can. Because of the area, we come back to our apartment around 7 something, eat dinner, and then I spend all the rest of the night feasting on the scriptures. I read how Ammon and his brethren were mighty missionaries of faith, because they had a sound understanding, for they had searched the scriptures diligently. I read and I read… I have learned so much in so short a time. There is power in the scriptures. Both in the standard works and the modern prophets words.

This is hard work. Every night I am so tired it’s hard to move. It takes all the strength I have left to eat, write in my journal, and read the scriptures. This work is worth it though. I have already changed so much. I can feel the spirit testify through me. I am so very blessed. Even though the sun burns me alive everyday – I already have a tan – and I walk everywhere I go. Easily 15-20 miles a day. I keep counting my blessings, for they are many when I look for them. The Lord is truly a God of blessings.

Just being here a few days I have been truly humbled. These people have nothing, and yet, they have everything. No showers in their homes, no kitchens, no cars, nothing… But they have family and God, so they are happy. If you think you have nothing, come here and spend 5 days in the heart of true poverty.

I love all of you so very much. I love your emails!!!!! They make me so happy! Even if I can’t email back, I read every email.

Keep strong. Feast on the scriptures and watch your life change.

Jesus Christ is my savior. I know it. I will not deny it.

Love,
Elder Whipple
—-
Nov. 23, 2015      Hail from Africa
Life in Africa can be hard at times, but at the same time it’s good!
Really good! I’m learning more from the scriptures then I ever have
before. I am also learning tons of life skills along with expanding my
mind. I actually had to go to the market and buy my own food! You may
think that’s silly, but this is a third world country we are talking
about here… It’s not like buying everything at Walmart. Mom, You
will be happy to know that I bought bulk oats, rice, noodles, and some
other things. I’ve been eating well. I’m gonna live! Oh yeah, I ate
fufu awhile ago… It wasn’t bad at all! I actually liked it and now I
eat it most nights. Cooking here isn’t bad. The handles on the pans we
have are really loose, but once you learn the secret everything is all
good. Washing clothes by hand is nice in all… But next week I’m
buying a small washer/dryer. Just about anywhere we go is a 20-30
minute walk… Singing hymns keeps me alive with all the walking.
DSC00103
This is the washer/dryer I will be getting. It’s small, to answer your question mom.

I guess I forgot to tell you where I am last email… We only get an
hour to email everyone and read emails.

 

It’s dry here, thank goodness, so we only sweat a normal amount and
get really tan. I’ve only been in Africa for a little bit and I
already have the darkest tan I have ever had… I’m starting to love
my area and the people more and more. The people are loving and
lovely. One of the only difficulties here is because there are so many
churches and everyone talks about Jesus and God, that it’s hard to get
people to focus… They think we are just another church. At times I
feel like a salesman trying to share with them why our “product” is
better… If only they could focus long enough to know that what we
are sharing isn’t just better, it’s the only one that works.
DSC00068
One of our investigators kids… Cute kids.

I’ve been learning a little Twi. I am still really rough… I need to
learn it though… The people in my area struggle to speak English…
The branch here is tiny, but the members are kind.

I was able to play some footie ball with some young boys while waiting
to pound fufu at a members home. Playing soccer with them made me so
happy! Pounding fufu was pretty fun. The Africans thought it was the
funniest thing they had ever seen, a white guy ponding fufu. They
didn’t want me to stop, because they wanted videos and photos of me…
I’m famous here  in Ghana!

It’s always a surprise to see myself in the mirror. It’s weird to see
a white guy… The two other elders living with my companion and I are
white zone leaders. Sweetly awesome guys. The people here love my
white skin and most of the people I talk to want me to bring them home
with me to America.

unnamed
Blood sweat and tears went into getting these photos…

The people here are hard to teach in their own way. Most of them are
not intellectuals, so we have to spend a really long time explaining
and simplifying things.

Could y’all send me music [note from older sister: Missionaries can only listen to certain music, church hymns, classical, or other music deemed ‘okay; by mission president.] on USB’s and SD card’s? Just get them to my
parents and they will send them. Thanks!

I love all of you.

Until next time.

Love,
Elder Whipple

—-
Nov. 30, 2015      Dusty roads and Orange shirts
I will use this email to fill any gaps that I have left open in past emails. My companion is Elder Ambanya from Kenya.
DSC00118
“Say Cheese!”
He is my mission father since he is training me. He’s really sweet and humble. If I feel we need to try something different he will change the ways he has been doing things even though he has been out for a year.
DSC00119
Just kidding…
Sometimes it’s weird, because there are things we can’t relate to and our humor is different… The important part is we get along.
DSC00106
Elder Whipple and Elder Ambanya. Hot, sunny day selfie.

Our part of [the town we are in] is mostly poor villiage and really kind, humble people. The people can be stubborn sometimes though… They do know the bible really well, or at least scriptures in it… They may not understand the scriptures, but the learn a few things from their church and hold tightly to them. One of the many pluses of this mission is hopefully I’ll be a master of the bible and a great teacher, because a great teacher knows how to put a difficult message in a simple way.

DSC00111
Nothing but dusty roads.

It is so hot and dusty here, I forgot Christmas is even coming up. Thanksgiving went well… I just ate oatmeal breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Yay!!

DSC00110
If you zoom in on this photo you will see nothing, but Rex. [Rex is a cousin that lost his life in Afghanistan almost three years ago. Kamron and Rex have some very similar facial expressions.]

Since we walk along the roads everyday here and cars throw dust everywhere, my shirts already have a orange tint to them.

DSC00108
One fist…

I adjusted to the food quickly and now I love it!! I have actually had to stop eating some of the foods, because I’m pretty sure I put on some weight… The dust here doesn’t taste too bad either.

cropped-dsc001091.jpg
The Master Commander. [..of this dusty road?]

The Lord is blessing my companion and I everyday! Even though it’s hard work, it’s worth it. Elder Ambanya and I are doubling most of our weekly goals! The Lord has a work in Africa and I am glad I’m apart of it! The harder we work the faster the days fly by! It feels just like yesterday I was emailing my weekly latter…

DSC00117
Just me and my lion.
I’ve been here in Africa for a month now and I finally got to wear my jeans and do some service! My companion and I were walking down a little dirt path and we passed a man clearing a huge wooded area… After we passed him, I asked my companion if we could go back and help. Once we asked him if we could help, and he aid yes, we ranback to our apartment to change. We came back with our own machetes and helped clear for awhile.
DSC00120
I used a machete to cut grass… Yeah, I’m African.
After a long while in the sun, we thanked the man and headed home. On the way home though, another man stopped us because he saw a white kid carrying a machete…
DSC00112
Dress up for mom night. Stripling warrior style.
Long story short, he was a cocoa farmer and was looking for help when he saw us. He wants us to come help him as often as we can! Potential baptism… I like service.
DSC00080

Oh yeah, I had my first baptism last Sunday!!!!! Actually, two baptisms. The sisters had me baptize one of their investigators. Pretty sweet. I have another baptism the Sunday after this Sunday.

I have been blessed with an area that has light every night, but last night the power went out… So I wrote last nights journal entry in the dark with a flashlight… Cool beans.

DSC00115
Bought this hard carved lion for about 30 U.S. dollars. Dad, want one?

Because the work is so important I can barely rest… Even if I finish a meal early, I feel bad if I just sit down and do nothing… So I read. I can’t even put into one email how much I’ve learned… A lot.

The work is going forth unto every nation. Flooding the world with the Book of Mormon.

I know this work is divine.

Love,

Elder Whipple

Leave a Reply

